My photo
Just LIVE.LOVE.BE. Everything else around you will evolve and change whether you ride the river or fight it and swim upstream. The only difference is how tired you'll be when you come to the end. That’s what this Blog is about. My journey and what I have and have NOT learned along the way.

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

2011.... Flip the Switch!!!!

Wishing Everyone a really Amazing Christmas!!!  It's been a year of Sad AND Amazing Happy Changes.  Funny how the Two come Hand in Hand.   

 I hope that Everyone that this Message reaches will 'Flip the Switch' (as someone I  loved taught me to do) and see all the Positive Changes that 2010 has brought to our Lives!   

Personally, I know that I've had 'Earth Shattering' Changes.  Financial and Personal.  

I Sold my Coffee Shop.  Rented my House.  Fought and Won a 9 year Custody Battle....  Moved with my Youngest and Amazingly Beautiful Daughter to a Place where I have found my Zen and  my Financial Future....Ironically.... back where I began.  Left my Other Amazing Beautiful Daughter to make her Way into the Adult World without her Momma.... (because its HER time).........

I've cast away Coffee and have started my own Bookkeeping Business that has taken off in ways I never even Imagined.  

I have Finished writing a Children's Christmas Book that has 'been in the Works for two years'  and hope to have it Illustrated and in Print by Christmas of 2011.

I have learned in the last couple of Years that 'You get what you Fear'.  'Be careful what you focus your thoughts on'. 

 IF you focus on your Loss you will get more Loss. 

 If you Focus on your 'Future Gains' you have yet to Receive your 'Full Potential' but it WILL come!'.  

I quit being afraid of LOSS and I told the 'Universe' What I wanted.  I made a LIST. 

 I'm watching it ALL come ALIVE as we SPEAK.... Because I Believed it Would Happen... Santa has brought me my Stocking Early... I just had to be Ready to Receive it.   All of it.  Family.  Love.  Life.  It's the 'readiness' that has tripped me up in the past. 

What an Amazing Year 2010 was for me!  I Loved.  I Lost.  I Gained.  I Received.  I Learned.  And I Grew.

I am no longer afraid to look around the Corner.... Instead I'm excited to see what will be there when I get there...........

Merry Christmas.......  And Thank You to Every Single Person who has affected my life.  

No matter which way the 'Switch was Flipped'... you were a part of my Journey and you helped to make me who I am.  

So Thank You.  Good.  Beautiful.  Bad. & Ugly.... You have Created a Shining Star....      Merry Christmas!

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Naked in front of the Tree...

Ha... Not really......  It was just a momentary thought in my head.... There & Gone before I could act on it.

Let me explain.  Last Night the Alaska Ex sent me a picture of his Christmas Tree.  In my house.  It took me a minute to realize that the Tree was sitting by the door that overlooked the view that I loved so much, a long time ago.  In a House that I begged, borrowed and pleaded & practically sold my soul to keep for the last 2 years.  Or more.  Really a lot more.

At first I wasn't sure why the hell he would do such a thing.  Then I decided it didn't matter.  Ok.  Obviously it matters or I wouldn't be writing about it.  I think he is taunting me with 'what could have been' or 'what could be'.  I'm not sure what his agenda was and it doesn't really matter.  I can only deal with the why & how on my end.

 My first emotion was an indignant WTF.   I had to fight a strong urge to send him a  Photo Shop  picture of me and Tim standing in front of a Decorated Palm tree in Hawaii.  Or one of us Naked & Making Mad Passionate love in front of our Own Christmas Tree.  Photo Shopped 20lbs thinner of course.  Wrong.  I know.  The only place you should lie about your weight is your Drivers License.  That's why I didn't do it.  That and a Multitude of other Obvious Ones.   And FYI, it was only in my head for a split second.  A short enough span of time that I'm almost positive "Karma" never even saw it.  But I've been wrong about that before so I'm not going to count on it.

 I am happier and more content than I have ever been.  So why does it stick in my craw like a jalapeƱo flavored toothpick stuck sideways?

Pride.  It's definitely Pride.  That 'Thing' that can fill our spine and hold us up when we need it.... and then in the next moment can drag us down.... when we don't.

My decision to Rent/Give back the House to Alaska Man was not an easy one.  Yes.  You heard it right.  Rent.  Its not really the right choice of Words but what else do you call it when the House Deed and Mortgage is in my name but he is paying the bill and I don't live there.  There is not a good word for that.  Except Fucked.  And since its Christmas that would be completely inappropriate and bad Karma.  I'm just sayin'.

And ..... Because of the Banks and Lenders stubbornness & complete unwillingness to think outside the box... it will probably remain that way until its paid off, sells or one of us Dies.  Given the Housing Market,  I have a bad feeling about which will come first.

My Pride and I had several discussions about this House & what to do with it.  Eventually the accruing fuel bill from driving back and forth to Eureka to spend time with the Love of My Life.... the selling of the coffee shop.... along with the ridiculous & persistent nagging of my mortgage company to pay in a timely fashion..... and the $300.00 electric bill for a house that only two people lived in ... well, these things certainly helped to seal the deal.  I had to put Pride aside.  And FYI:  Right now She is laying wounded on a bed of Crow.

The House that I fought so hard to keep.  Is now His Again.  And it is as it should be.  If we put into perspective that Nothing really Belongs to Us and we are simply using it for a short time while we Journey here.  Then its all Relative and Good.

The lesson I have learned in all of this:  Thank God there are no battery's in the camera!    I'm just sayin'...

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Hippy Skirts, Christmas & My Auntie Lee Lee...........

Today.... I bought THE most amazing Quilted Hippy Skirt..... EVER.  At a second hand store.  $12.00.
 O ya baby!

It reminds me of my cousin Makenna.  She wears these quilted skirts with leggings.. Straight hair, No make up and Hand knit hats... looks Absolutely Amazing in them.  Natural~Model~Beautiful~Amazing.  Cuz she just IS! I want to be her when I grow up.  :)

I bought second hand black leather clogs too.  Peace Baby!!!  I am SO wearing them NOW.  Can't wear them outside of course... because its 5degrees and snowing.  But whatever... I am the QUEEN of DENIAL...  Candles are lit.. Van Morrison is playing on 'Pandora'... Summer is here in my living room... Skirts 'Swayin'... Crazy Hair Flowin'.... 'Eyes closed... pretending its summer or the 70's.. which I missed... what the hell eva' ... I'm dancin' and Feeling very Zen.

 'Things' or Music make me think of the people I love.

This skirt made me think of Makenna.  Which made me think of her Momma.  Who just happens to be my Aunt .... four years my Senior.  Auntieeee Lee Lee.  My Very Best Friend.  Since I was Born.

How very convenient to be Born with a Best Friend.  For Sure!

She has been One of the Very Few Real People in My Life who has loved me unconditionally while at the same time has also been willing to say, "HONEY... Honey ... honey... Please Please Please... stop doing that"...  and if I don't.... she just says, " O Honeyyyyyy, I love you. ... I LOVE YOU... BECAUSE YOU ARE YOU."....  

She is also one of those amazingly spiritual people who underestimates themselves and the effect they have on the World and the People in It.  

I'm finding that those kind of People can be very Rare.  So very Rare. So very very verrrrry rare.  

She is also the BEST Hostess EVER!!!  Cooks the best meals while accommodating every one in the house even after having shared a few bottles of the best that $Chuck had to offer.     

My favorite Christmas Memory EVER ...   was spent at Auntie Lee Lee's house...

 Christmas Eve... went to the beach and collected shells then sat by the fireside at a local place and ate fresh clam chowder... toured the local "Christmas Lights at the Garden's at the Beach".

Came home and looked at the Bare Christmas Tree.  Said.  Nope.  Not ready to decorate it. ..... Yet.

 Had a glass of wine and went to bed.  

Christmas Day.  We put a Ham in the oven... at some point.

 Then went downstairs and 'threw' pottery and drank more wine... talked, laughed, told stories, dug our hands in the clay.... laughed some more...
....    Forgot about dinner until 'company' showed up..........  I'm wearing overalls.. hair in a messy chaotic clay mess...  Laughing and forgetting about all of the rituals... Just enjoying my life.  

 It truly was one of MY Best and Favorite Days EVER.  

No decorations on the tree and no presents under it. 


No dinner on the table. 


 No pressure.  


No expectations.     


 Just FAMILY enjoying their time together. 


 THAT IS  my BEST Christmas EVER!!!


Thank YOU Auntie Lee Lee ......................................................  I love you.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Happy Thanksgiving Uncle Charles... "Who died with His boots ON"........

Today I had the random thought that for Thanksgiving this year....  I wish I had the financial flexibility to order a plane ticket for two.  Do they serve Roasted Turkey  & Mashed ‘Taters in Belize?  I don’t know?  Cold here. Hot there.  Duh.

Expectations.  That is what the Holidays are.  Expectations of “Family”.   I have learned that “Family” is what you make… not what you are necessarily Given.  Or Maybe it IS.  DAMMIT.

My last ‘ Big Family Occasion”  with my Family was a Reunion.   No One should be subjected to a Normal Reunion.  Let alone one with MY family.  Unless they can afford the Therapy Expenses that come with it.

The day before ‘our’ Reunion my Uncle Charles turned Blue and died on my Mothers couch.

 My Aunt came out  of the kitchen and looked at him and said, “Ummm, How long has he NOT been snoring?”.

 Really Boys?…. You did NOT notice he was no longer watching the Football Game… Helllooooooo… Jeeeezuz.

His final Urination on my Mothers leather sofa becoming another reason for her to have  an excuse to Self Medicate on his left over Narcotics for the remaining "official" time of the Family Reunion.... while making a  one time speedy trip to Pier One to put a new couch on hold.  

 I’d have done the same thing…. But we were all given instructions of Sobriety on the Invitation.  NO Alcohol.  Due largely to the Families Christianity and AA beliefs.   Damn our luck.  It was first come and first serve on the Oxycotin…..  

I hope that Charles is sitting somewhere in Heaven … with his size Bazillion Cowboy Boots On… and is smiling because he missed the REST of the Reunion.  Or maybe he‘s smiling because … He now has the cure for cancer… and can really fix a jet airplane on the phone.  Or maybe he's smiling because he can eat all the Roasted Turkey Skin off the Turkey and NO ONE will judge him.

Regardless, for whatever reason………..  Tonight………. I’m thinking’ of Uncle Charles…  and the laughter that he left us with.

Tomorrow.  I will share Thanksgiving with The love of My Life and the child who has become my ‘other’ child….  Kaden.    We… Three… are a Family tomorrow.

Laughter.  Love.  That is what I want for my LIFE.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

LIVE like Snow..........

I'm Sittin’ here watchin’ the snow fall,  I can’t help but think about how life changes in ways we never expect it too.

 Like the snow that keeps falling…. every flake of our life is so different.

Beautiful and Elegant.  Rough and Melted.

I used to think I knew what my life would hold.  I planned it out.  Envisioned it.  And was then constantly disappointed that it didn’t turn out the way I thought it would.

There was this turning point when I realized that My Life was just NEVER going to be what I had thought it would be.  What an amazing thing that was.

We get what we Fear.  I believe that.  Let FEAR GO.  That is the answer.

Just Live and Land.  Settle then Grow.  Then Melt when you are Supposed To and Land Somewhere Else.

We ARE where we ARE supposed to be When we are There.

I love when the trees are covered in fresh snow.  The vines sparkly white.  The air is quieter when it snows than any other time.

It’s a Blanket on the World.  We can sleep now.

How did LIFE get so good?  I just quit fighting it and let it happen.

 Like the Snow… we have no Control.

We  Land.  We settle.  We Grow.  We Melt....

.... maybe....

....... if  'Our Story' isn't done...

.......We Snow somewhere else............

I have Landed.

 My Story has just Begun..........

Friday, October 22, 2010

The Chickens are Rockin' the Coop!

My Daughters Chickens are Rockin' the Coop.  Three to Four Eggs a day.... We literally have a Pile of Eggs in the Refrigerator.  As do our Neighbors in Theirs. 

I was not at all pumped up about having Chickens.   All Feathery and Pointy Nasty Feet.  And I have yet to be able to slide my hand under any of their Butts in search of Eggs.  Just NOT going to Happen.  In fact I have to tell myself that the Eggs don't really come from a Chickens Butt in my Back Yard but instead they Miraculously appear in the refrigerator... in order to even be able to eat them.  I'm like that with Venison as well.  It must be packaged and frozen.  Then re thawed before I can pretend its food.  Before that.  Its a furry brown eyed animal and I CAN'T go there.

  My youngest loves animals of ALL kinds and was extremely persistent about having Chickens.  Assuring her that it was NOT happening because we just did NOT have a place to keep them I thought I had that Battle Whipped.  I forgot that she is cut from the same exact same cloth that I am and once she sets her mind on something NOTHING will stop her from making it happen.

I came home to the Metal Tool Shed being emptied of its contents and the Dog Kennel Panels rearranged around it and Her with a roll of Chicken wire fencing she was laying across the top.  Big Smiles.  Problem solved Mom.  We now have a Chicken Coop.

I think we started out with 10 Baby Chicks.  The cat Ate One.  Buddy, the BigFatNewfieCollieCrossPoundDogHunterExtroidanaire, ate four of them.  So now we have 4 Actual 'Working Chickens' and one Fucking Rooster.  I hate Roosters.  And I'm surprised my daughter doesn't also.  She was attacked and scarred by a dog but she still loves Dogs.  So there you are. 

 For my house warming present My Nephew, who loved chickens too,  graciously brought me two Baby Roosters.  I thought they were absolutely adorable.  Running around together in the Field and the Yard.  So Cute.  I liked them a little less when they decided to Roost under my bedroom window on the Porch Swing.  No matter how many times I locked the little bastards down in the Barn they'd end up Crowing ALL Night long.... under my Window...having apparently missed the Roosters Crow at Sunrise Class.

  As they grew older they grew a tad more aggressive but I wasn't concerned.  Little kick with your Toe and they backed right off.    And SOooooo.  I did not listen......  When  Lacey came running into the house one day, sweating and out of breath, barely able to get the words out, "THEY TRIED TO KILL ME MOM".  

She repeated this scenario every day for about a month, until I lost my patience one day and screamed back at her, "O for fuck sake Lacey stop being so Melodramatic.  They are Chickens.  They are NOT going to Kill You". 

For the next month she refused to go outside unless she carried a weapon with her.  It started with a shoe or rubber boot but quickly progressed into the handle of the broom.  Her trips outside were quick and stealthy.  I'd watch her sneaking around the trees and the rock piles while trying to make her way down to the barn to throw hay to the horse and I'd smile inwardly at her cute little game. 

Then one day.  They tried to Kill Me. 

 We were heading to the store.  I had my purse in one hand.  Lacey had her Broom handle in hers.  She did her little 'thing' where she cracked the door open only slightly... poked just the top of her head out far enough to see around the door frame... then she took off like a flash for the car.  I rolled my eyes and gave a Big Sigh.. thinking how tiresome it had become... and headed out to the car myself.

 I heard the swooooshing' of the air being cut by feet and feathers first... I cocked my head to the side, pausing and listening and ......wondering.    I barely turned and could see them literally flying at break neck speed around the Corner.  Surely they hadn't heard the door open and were tracking us?  These thoughts barely formed in my head when the first one came off the Ground,  looking much Like a B52 Bomber... flew threw the air and  Landed on  my head!    Talons dug deep into my scalp, Feathers Flapping Wildly as he was surely trying to lift my head off the top of my body.  I'm screaming and dancing around trying to Knock him off.  Complete Panic taking over.    I  manage to look up through the flapping wings to see my daughter poke her head out of the car and yell, "O Mom... don't be so Melodramatic... They are just chickens and will NOT kill You!"... and she slams the door shut and Locks it. 

They didn't kill Me but not for lack of trying.  I eventually whacked both of them enough times with my purse and legs and arms and I think maybe even teeth....

One hour later a 'skunk' or 'something' shot and killed them and they are buried somewhere in the Field... close to the Barn... 3 Feet Down.    And I am terrified of Chickens to this day.

The lesson I have learned here.  Listen to your kids.  I mean seriously.  All the signs were There. 



Thursday, October 21, 2010

The Monster No Longer Lives in My Closet!

Yesterday I walked out of the Court House with the Uncontested Intent to Move Modification Papers (whew... now that's a mouthful) IE:  The Freedom to live somewhere besides Flathead Valley and not lose Custody of my Daughter.

 But it was so much more than just that.  It was the Freedom to NOT have to live in the same town as the man who has Bullied and Controlled me since I was 13 years old.  It was closure to a  9 Year Constant Custody Battle over our two Daughters. One of which  is 19 and lives like a gypsy, never laying her head down long enough anywhere to actually call home.  A repurcussion I am sure comes from being pulled back and forth between the two of us.... she was older... she Saw & Remembers More.

It was closure to  almost 30 years of being Intimidated & Manipulated & Hurt by this One Man. 

Yesterday I kicked up my heels and yelled in my head, "You can't own Me.  Or Hurt Me. Or Use our daughters to Hurt Me.  Ever again!"  And I let it Go.  Felt it Go. 

I was Elated.  The kind of Elated that makes you scream, 'YES' OUT LOUD... your legs jump up and down, arms waving around... Body completely out of control with Positive Energy... Dancing kind of Elated....  After  Years of Battling with This Man ... I feel FREE for the VERY first time!!!

I started Dating Him when I was 13.  Married Him at 19.  Divorced Him... a Scared Broken but Determined Woman at 32.  I thought I'd be FREE of Him then.  This is where I insert 'sarcastic laughing and snorting'.  The Reality is that with that Divorce and consequential Detailed Parental Agreement my ex husband and the Family Court System  gained more control over my life than I EVER dreamt possible.  Unless I wanted to give up Custody of my kids.  Which would have happened ONLY over my dead decomposing body. 

  If I had a dime for every time I wish I had had Invitro... I'd be a millionaire.  I have literally wished away the last 9 years.  It has been one of my Biggest Regrets.  I didn't get to be the  Mother I wanted to be  because it was such a Battle with their Father to get to be One. 

The littlest Things turned into Enormous Battles and Hour long Phone Conversations....usually resulting in my phone ending up in bits at the bottom of the Wall it was Flung Against.  It has been Exhausting.

I thought the fighting was bad when we were married.  I had NO idea.   I remember what he told me the night I said I wanted a Divorce, like it was Yesterday.  He stood there with the Deed to His House in His Pocket,  His exact words were, "If you Leave me, I will make Your Life miserable!  I will bring in Women who will be the MOTHER to MY Children and I will NOT financially support you, and you won't leave with My kids".  It was probably the only thing I think he has ever said that he completely Stood by.   Persistantly Stood by.  When I have been able to take a step off the 'wheel' and actually jump outside the Gerbil Cage,  I can admire his Tenacity and Persistance at making my Life completely miserable.  

I've been reported to Family Court for not having Tire Treads the right Depth & Coats with Broken Zippers.  Battles to constantly reduce Child Support.  Fights over changing Schools or Residences.  Lost Custody for a short time because I couldn't afford to Provide a Private Bedroom.  Fights over whose Holiday it was until I quit giving a shit about the Holidays completely, rarely even puttin up a Christmas Tree anymore.  I even spent a month having to drop my daughter off every night at his girlfriends house while he was a State away working, sneaking her a Cell Phone because 'said' GF wouldn't allow her to talk to me while at her house.  Thousands of Dollars in Legal Fees & Lost Work Hours.  Weekly Schedule Changes around his Job and HIS Life.  AND Always the Negotiations... Monthly, Weekly, Daily.  There were times that I swear I talked to him more Divorced than we EVER did Married.  Plan Plan AND Plan.  Break the Plan so we can Plan some more.  OMG.  Synchronize Your Watches folks its almost Dad's Weekend.

The crazy thing is now I look back and I wish I could have had some perspective.  Stop and BREATH before I reacted.  I was like a Pop Up Doll.  Push this Button and I Jump.  This one and I Scream.  This one and I'll break every fucking dish in the kitchen.  Given the fact that I'd been with this man since I was Basically 13 he knew EVERY Button to Push.  And he did.  Until I short circuited one day and ended up running down the road barefoot screaming that I wanted to kill him with my bare hands and a toothpick.  It was then that God got out a REALLY big 2x4 and knocked me on my ass before I ended up in Jail with splinters in my hands.  My calf muscle torn from the base of my heel all the way to my knee.  The worst tear the doctor had EVER seen.  It swelled and filled with blood and I didn't walk normally for almost a year and a half.  The first 3 months I laid on a couch with my leg in the air contemplating my "Anger Issues" towards my Ex Husband.  It was then that I knew I had to find a way to STOP letting him push my buttons.  Ya' think. 

I had lost everything.  He had taken both my daughters and convinced one to live with him.  I couldn't walk.  I couldn't get off the couch to break anything.  I was Stuck with Myself.  It was the catalyst that brought Much Needed Change to my LIFE.  It was there I learned what having NO control over your life or that of your Childrens lives, really meant.  Painfully and Slowly I decided I better learn to LET Go.  Because I wasn't so sure I could survive God's Next 2x4.  I was actually kind of afraid he'd start using something Bigger.  Like a Lightening Bolt or Something. 

It was the beginning of my Journey into Land of No Fear.  I had to quit being afraid of How he could Hurt Me ...in order to NOT be afraid of Him hurting Me... in order for Him to Stop Being able to Hurt Me.

 Seems Easy.  Especially for those who have never been in this type of Relationship for the better part of their Life.  For me, It has obviously been a Painful and Slow Journey that left me with many Healed Scars.  I hurt my leg 3 years ago.  I just found Freedom Yesterday.  I've already admitted my propensity for slow learning so this shouldn't be a new revelation. 

Still being me I had actually thought for a Moment that he signed the papers because he had realized how Powerful and Strong I had become and that I wasnt' Afraid of Him anymore.  HA.  Funny Shit.  He only signed the Papers because he has found a New Family to take over and Control and someone elses Ex to Bully and Beat Up.  Sorry New Family.  But Good Riddance for Me.  Its interesting how we all seem to keep repeating the same patterns over and over and over again.  I think maybe its why God decided to NOT let us Live for 900 years anymore. 

And so.  The Monster No Longer Lives in My Closet!  I am Free.  From More than I can even write about.  My feet are tappin'... My Heart is Smilin' ...  Life is Good and it Just Keeps Getting Better.

Monday, October 18, 2010

Am I missing a Sign Here?

My Flood lights at the Coffee Shop ALL burned out. THIS MORNING....   ALL 3 of them...

AND

I've had 3  customers this morning.  All Morning.  3. That is just CRAZY RIDICULOUS!  So I'm sitting here thinking... OK... UNIVERSE... I clearly see a sign here. Give me another one please because Im so frign' stupid that I need several at the same time in order to actually get the picture you are trying to paint for me.....

Ding... theres a Text.... from... a company out of Kalispell. She'll have a 'Decision' in 3 weeks and she is wrapping a lot of her future plans around buying my Coffee Shop (we've been discussing the sale off and on...  since June).


So as I'm making my Pita Sandwich and placing it on the Espresso Machine to heat Up for lunch.... cuz it's MY shop and I'll do that if I want to... . and I"m thinking.... I wonder if its a sign... this Monday Morning is full of signs.. I think... but I'm not sure... maybe... hmmmm...maybe the universe is throwing me a bone and saying.. hey dumbass... I don't want you sitting in this 10x12 hotbox all winter (working for FREE while the Other Two So~Called Partners pretend they don't have a Business to help with ... yes there are 3 Partners)   and wondering how you are going to buy a pair of new underwear when your last pair falls off your fucking body....... Cuz... God is good to me like that. Just when I need a 2x4... there it is....

3 Partners
3 Burned out lights
3 Customers
3 Text messages from Possible Buyer for Coffee Shop
3 Depressing Feedback Emails from Realtor... NO Offers.

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm ...  and then there is this Revelation;  

I'm moving to Eureka in January. 3 months from Today.  Am I reading to much into this '3' thing?...

If my house doesn't sell by January I'm giving it back to Alaska Man.  It's his turn to live in the 3 story house that costs $400.00 a month to heat and $1600.00 a month to keep the Foreclosure Man from taping Notes on the Door. 

It's his turn to sit in the Quiet Lonliness of those four walls,  that houses so many Broken Dreams and Memories.   Many a Night I sat alone in That House and have contemplated my Past, Present and  Current state of Limbo.  It's like Ground Hogs Day over and over. 

 AND WOW.... THE ridiculousness of my attempting to re~create that dream 3 seperate times in that very Same house with the end result being the Same.    Stick a fork in me Sam... I'm done. 

The first time I saw that 'Beautiful Barn Style House'  it was with DumbAss.  We were living in a trailer at Whitebirch Lane (where he still lives btw).  I of course harbored all these dreams to raise a family in the Perfect White Picket Fence house setting.  This house fit that bill.  A little Pasture for a Pony.  Out in the country.  Amazing view of Glacier Park and Big Mountain.  Of course DumbAss hated it.  Everything about it.  I think he only hated it because I loved it.  That's how we rolled back then.  We ended up in a fight that lasted so long and was so awful that upon seeing my oldest daughter Rocking back and Forth at the kitchen table with her head stuck between her legs, we went to our First Marriage Councelor. 

The second time I saw this house I was married to Alaska Man.  We were looking for a house in town and I saw an ad in the paper and I instantly knew it was THIS house.   He wrote a check to hold it; without even looking at it.  Lord knows he had HEARD about this damn house enough.  Crazy thing is he was NEVER really happy in this house.  Intense and Angry from the Moment we moved in.  I don't think he ever really 'Lived' in that House.

The 3rd  and final time ...  that I attempted to move a man into this house was with CrazyDude Short Lived Boy Friend.  He actually had a drawing under his bed of 'his' Dream House... Creepily enough it was of a 'Barn Style House'.  Well that 'Plan' was a fiasco and a 'too embarrassing' show of my obvious level of low self esteem and stupidity to even waste time describing.  It lasted... OMYGOD... 3 Months.  (Seriously... I am NOT making this shit up).

Three Times I have tried to re~create the Leave it to Beaver Family in this House.  There won't be a Fourth.  Cuz I'm quick like that.  I think I'll take a hint from the Universe... Hint...  haha...  I mean seriously... how many bruises from the 2x4 does a girl need before she sees a clear answer.  

So... Good bye House & Hopefully Shop & the ill~fated Partnerships...  I'm breaking up with You... I'm OVER YOU. 

Movin ON.... I am so ready to KICK that DOOR closed and MOVE ON....  I see the LIGHT at the END of the Tunnel and I'm moving steadily towards it... breaking out into a run  every now and then... .when no one is looking.....

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Kiki & China

Yesterday I got to watch my nephews Fall Singing Concert. Mostly children’s concerts can be very painful but this one was short and sweet and the kids actually did very well. Those who participated and weren’t standing there poking their neighbor in the ribs or giggling that is.


With my sister on one side and my best friend and boyfriend on the other side, I was rather content. Maybe a little bored with myself and wishing they served wine & cheese at these events, but content. It was then that I had this total clarity that I was where I was supposed to be.

Obviously I need to BE wherever Tim is, as he is the Other Half of Me. But what I realized was how much I’ve missed hanging out with my sister.

We are 10 months apart. We look a lot alike and we can laugh over almost anything. Over the years we have shared some pretty spectacular moments together and have gotten ourselves in more than a few ‘pickles’.

One of my favorites was our Thanksgiving Dinner that Never Happened. It wasn’t really our fault. I was married to Dumbass and as always he was snowmobiling and hanging out with the boys, leaving me to tend to the home front all by myself. This time he took my Sisters husband with her. So it’s Dumbass’s fault. They were late. And we got distracted by the Huckleberry Daiquiris, that being AFTER we ran out of Strawberry’s. The men came home to us sitting in the hot tub, the babies propped in car seats next to it, Us, with a Large Turkey Leg in one hand and a Daiquiri in the other. Great Big Purple Seedy Smiles on our faces. Sorry boys. No mashed ‘taters’ for you. In my Esteemed Opinion it was one of the BEST Thanksgivings Ever.

Besides being so close because we are almost Twins, our very first Bonding Moment was the discovery that Kiki was not really the name of our Vagina … but instead a Little Girl in a series of books.

I’m not sure what ever possesses a Mother to Lie to their Child in such a manner as this. One that could forever scar them. But ours did. Nobody ever said the word Vagina. It was a Kiki. You can imagine our shock when we discovered the very first series of books on Kiki, in the back of the Traveling Book Mobile that came to Fortine. It was There on the floor between the little tight aisles that Charie and I got our first look at the REAL Kiki. Years later we still laugh over Kiki going to Washington. Kiki walks in the Rain. Kiki gets a Teddy Bear. Even as adults, we have made up a few of our own ‘Adventures for Kiki’. Those ‘Kiki’ books were such a Great Find for us and still an opportunity for Hilarity when Bored.

Being a much better Mom than My Mother ever was, I of course made sure that My children new it was a Vagina. Or I tried to. Its just such a weird word. For sure. My 3 year old for the longest time shortened it to China. And I let her. (Sigh) … this brought all sorts of Dilemma’s. Like “MOM… Why is there’s a Fire in Someone’s China’ or wide eyed knowing statements like, ’Did you know my Green Gumby Guy was MADE in CHINA’ … the hardest one to explain was why I was so pissed at her Dumbass father for Breaking my China… that I had gotten for our wedding’. Seriously. Maybe Kiki wasn’t so bad.

When our kids were little, my sister and I, spent almost 3 days a week together. Gorging on M&M’s and Diet Pepsi. Crafting and Painting crap I have no idea what happened to. When I was pregnant with my oldest daughter I would sit in a rocker and watch my sister sew Quilts while her baby son lay on my belly. Those were some of the Best Moments.

And so I look forward to this next phase of my life where I can take that step to move closer to the Man that I want to spend my Life with and my Little Sister and her children.

I feel like I am finally going Home Again. HA.…. Kiki goes Home…. Hahahahahaa …

Thursday, October 14, 2010

You can’t give what you haven’t yet received.

I used to think that I loved all the people in my life Unconditionally. I now realize that it was impossible for me to do that since I was completely unaware of what it actually meant.

We are conditioned from Birth to have an idea in our head of what Love and Family is and anything that falls outside those borders is unacceptable or dysfunctional. In my head Love was always Warm and Fuzzy never Hot or Angry. Even though I grew up with the Latter but desired the Other.

If you were angry with me then you didn’t love me. It was a pretty simple concept and one that I held on to for the better part of my Life.

For the most part, I believe, that we get our concepts of these things from the environment that we are raised in. So yes, I am pre-disposed to blame my parents. Isn’t everything always our Parents fault. Ha. I would say this is Truth but I’ve discovered sometimes even someone raised in a perfect “Leave it to Beaver’ family can grow up feeling insecure and unaccepted, settling for any morsels of Validation and Love that comes their way but still feeling empty when it does.

I grew up in a household of Chaos and Conflict. So I have inevitably been a Seeker of Both. Its natural evolution to fall into the same patterns that you lived with as a child. It takes a strong Will and Determination to change and to grow apart from your History, that which for the most part I believe I have been able to do. However, I will admit, Being the change in the world that you want to see is a LOT more difficult than it sounds.

I’m not sure if I was drawn to Negative, Controlling and Angry People or if they were drawn to me. It doesn’t really matter. Up until last year it was simply the Reality of my Life. My Aunt says that it’s the simplicity with which I am able to be Manipulated by the People I seek Love From. Translated that means that my spinal cord is made of Jelly and I’m an ‘easy mark’.

I tend to agree with her, wanting to change it and be stronger, but unsure of how to go about this sometimes. It just goes against the very Nature of who I am. Saying “No” and standing up for myself, is as difficult as pulling Teeth out of a cats ass.

Growing up, Love always felt conditional. I’m not sure if that is an actual Truth or if it was just a Thought in my head. In a way I was judging other peoples love of me, assuming it was Conditional. I ask myself now, what goes on inside a persons head that makes them feel this way from the beginning. Worthless and unlovable? Regardless of the Why or the What, its what created the People Pleasing Personality trait that has plagued me my entire life.

I have fought the impulse to do and say whatever it takes to make the people in my life show me love and affection. Quite often losing the battle. I don’t remember it always being this exhausting, but as of late, I’m OVER it. What I’ve discovered is that no matter how hard you try or how good you are able to lie to yourself or to those around you, or how often you Go the extra mile, you don’t get loved any more or any less for the Things that you Do.

Your Loved by the People you are supposed to be Loved by, at that Time in your Life. And Love comes in so many Forms that its impossible to put it in a Neat and Tidy Box. Your loved by your Dog differently than by your Mother or your Mate. Take it for what it is.

Unconditional Love is a rare gift. So when you find it and recognize it, you should honor it and Never take it for Granted.

I don't know if its that I have finally accepted being Loved or that I am chosing different People to Love.  Maybe a lot of Both.  Now, I know that I have several People in my Life that I Love unconditionally, because I finally feel that I too, am loved by many in the same way.

So I can now Freely give what I know I have already Received.  Life is just Good like That.

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

From my Bubble Right back into Yours

Every person has their own Reality based on which part of the Life Pie they are standing in and have already walked through.


The day I realized this, it was like a major revelation for me. Should have been a no~brainer… seems like such a simple concept. Sometimes these things come slow to me.

I mean. Wow. Does this mean that no matter how much I talk that I am NOT going to be able to get someone else to 'see the sky' from the very spot of grass that I am standing on.  And why,  given that knowledge and  regardless of my brain sending me clear messages to shut the hell up,  do I continue to go on and on and on? 

The good thing is that I am realizing that I need to accept that other peoples opinions are just that. Their Opinions. And mostly they have nothing to do with me even if they are directed at me. Their Opinions of my Life & how I should live it, are most often based on their Own Journey through Life. And Vise Versa. I find myself giving the very same advice I should be taking. ALL the TIME.

Once I understand and remember that while I see Blue Skies, they may just see the Cloud in the Corner, I am able to FREE myself from Emotional Attachment to Their Version of my Reality.

Not that sometimes those who love me the most can’t clearly see me walking into the same closed door over and over again and feel perpetually responsible to call out to me just before I do. Rarely do I heed their advice to stop. For whatever reason I am compelled to make the same mistakes over and over again, learning my lessons the hard way, usually stumbling upon the ‘Right’ Choice for me by accident. But taking full credit for it anyway.

Why has this been so hard for me? Because in general I think we all Desperately seek out the same thing. Validation, Acceptance, Love. And when we don’t get that we assume that we are not worthy of it. Or that someone else is to blame because we have not found it. Instead of seeing that for whatever reason we have stumbled off our Path and have been turning over all the wrong Rocks.

“Someone’, who used to be close to me, told me that I was Negative and Angry. This is when I first realized that ‘their’ Truth and Mine were not the same at all.  Maybe at one time that was Me.. but now... not only do I no longer see those traits in myself, but its actually the very same traits that I see in them. I had this mental image of their Words bouncing off my bubble and Landing right back in theirs. After that I could walk away from that conversation with only Minor Wounds.

My ex husband told my daughter this summer that he hates me because he blames me for him and his second wife not being able to make their relationship work. She apparantly was his Soul Mate.  Somehow, from the distance of my own Life,  I single handedly ruined it.  Hmmm.  Even our Daughter, with only 15 years of Life Experience doubted my responsibility for this failed relationship.  But, as you can imagine, I had to snap my jaw back in place when she repeated this information to me.   It was, after all, a Surprise that this is where his anger has stemmed from.   I thought he was just mad because 'I got' the Last Fourth of July. HA.

CLEARLY my reality and truth of that situation is much different. May those Words bounce off my bubble and knock him on his ass when they land back in his. I mean really? It’s my fault he couldn’t make the 2nd Marriage work that he started before he was even divorced from his first wife/Me? Hello? If I couldn't make OUR marriage work I certainly don't have the Skills or Magical Powers to make THEIR marriage work. 

It did release me from ever feeling that I needed to make an attempt to be ‘friendly’ with the Dumbass. Clearly he is harboring some anger issues that not only do I have nothing to do with, but that I can not change. I’m not so obtuse as to not realize that I can NOT convince him of anything other than what he has determined to be the Truth in his own mind.   It is Obviously easier to blame all future failed relationships on that of your Evil Ex Wife than to take responsibilty yourself. 

I understand that.  It can be excruciating to look inward and see the Choices we have made in our Life and to accept it for what it is.  No justification.  It is only the bravest or the most desperate who ever actually do it.  I find that it is only when I have been knocked flat, that I am GIVEN the opportunity to contemplate these things without any Will of my Own.  Otherwise I doubt that I would venture there either.  God has just never given me a Choice.  When I'm hard of hearing and refuse to Listen.  He gets out the 2x4. 

A 'Stand Back View' of his Truth of me (and by 'his' ... I'm talking about the Ex hubby.. not God... despite the fact that the Ex may be confused about the distinction)   gave me nothing more than Freedom from his Opinions... 

But why did it take me 9 years to get there. 9 years to realize that his anger and blackness towards ME had nothing to do with ME. For God’s sake. The energy I could have saved had I realized this Truth from the beginning. Here I was taking it personally and thinking I had the Power to change it. If I gave up holidays, Never asked for an increase in child support but instead watched it dwindle to Almost Nothing as he made more and more money, If I was just a good enough Ex-Wife he’d stop being a Dick. Ya. Ha. Now that IS funny. He’s still Pissed. In fact after all of my Super Woman Attempts at being the Perfect Ex Wife he’s madder than EVER before.  There is a surplus of Wood beside his Fire and he just keeps throwin' it on.  Go figure.

I use this Revelation of Paradoxical Truths on even Random People.. Like the lady who came through the coffee shop and yelled, “I don’t want a fuckin’ scone… I want a goddamn muffin”…. clearly that wasn’t about me or my offer of a Freshly Baked Scone. I can look at her with one eye brow sitting on my hairline and say nothing because I know that she isn’t really even Seeing Me. She’s yelling at someone else. About something other than Muffins.

I get that Life is Hard.  Mine hasn't been all Peaches and Cream... But Seriously... If you want a Muffin. Go get a Muffin. Stop blaming everyone else because you don’t know where to find one or because you refuse to pick up the one that has been sitting there right in front of you the whole time. 

As for me.  I FOUND MY MUFFIN....AND I'M ENJOYING IT UNDER THE BLUE CLOUDLESS SKY!    :0)

Friday, October 1, 2010

In Memory of Ricky Wilson

Today is the Funeral of my cousin who ended his own life.  My heart is sad for those that he left behind filled with Grief and Guilt and Confusion. 

I can imagine, only a little, what must take place in someones mind during such a moment.  I have been close to that cliff only once in my life.  It was the night after I buried my twins.  My Loss seemed so unbearable.  I could not see past the blackness and the hurt.  My Bubble seemed small and full of no Hope only Pain.  I didn't think it would ever diminish.  But it did.

Even with a bottle of Cheap Champagne all I could think about was how Permanent it would be.  That's the ultimate 'no going back' decision.  And it leaves so much Pain in its Wake.  It's a Regret you can't fix.

I can barely remember the last time I even saw my cousin Ricky.  I really have only one memory of him, racing around my Grandmother's house on his little red tricycle.  It was snowing outside. 

That's the kind of Grandma we had.  The most amazing kind.  There was always a candy drawer full of treats.  A cupboard full of snow clothes, mittens and pants that never fit right.  A little table we got to drag out into the living room so we could make PlayDoh pies.  And we were always allowed to rollerskate or ride our trikes thru out the house. 

It's hard to imagine how that little boy tearing up the lineoleum with a sucker hanging out of his mouth got from There to Here.  Life happened.  And the in between was  was just to much.  Now he rests where ever it is that Heaven resides.  And his Wife, Child, Parents, Sister and Friends will be left to keep Living. 

Even if we don't know the person very well, I think we can learn something from Every Death that happens in our Circle of Life. 

We can become more grateful for the Moments we have with the People that we Love.  We can make an effort to see those that we haven't seen in a long while.  Maybe our lips are loosened and we say the things we think we should have said for a long time.  Or maybe we learn that we don't need to say Everything that comes to mind.

As for me.  I am thankful for the blue skies and sunshine and for the People in my Life who tell me AND show me that they love me... not just because there is a Tragedy... but all the time.

May the People closest and most affected by Ricky's death find Peace. 

Saturday, September 18, 2010

What the Hell is Wrong with People?!?


Does anyone do the Right Thing just because it’s the Right Thing? Suck up their Pride & Fear of Losing Control and just be freakn’ Nice. How about that for a change. It is the rare person who will keep their mouth shut because they don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings or to go the extra mile and do something Nice because it felt like the right thing to do. Even though it may cost them a little extra time, energy or emotion. It is the rare person who will step up and say, “I’m sorry”. And mean it. I know a handful of these people and I hold them very close to my heart. The others. I avoid as much as possible. Denial & Avoidance being my friend.

Every one is so busy defending and justifying their actions that they forget it sometimes doesn’t matter what got you to that place. Your there. Make the best of it and do what is Right. Which is an interesting concept, all on its own, as Everyone’s ‘Right’ is based on their version of Reality and Truth. Both of which I have found varies by an incredible degree depending on the person and the Journey that they have traveled.

Take custody issues for instance… and I only draw on these because it seems I have become some kind of a Custody Follower… landing in the middle of dysfunctional divorced families like some kind of Drama Starved Custody Groupie. Over the last 9 years I have had the occasion to witness, up close, the tearing apart of a child’s soul by one parent or the other in 4, mind you, FOUR separate Custody Battles, mine included. Which has spanned the better part of my children’s life.

Not that I won’t be completely supportive of my ‘honey’s’ current battle I’m just somewhat a little ‘cold’ and harsh with my advice. Stand up Now or be prepared to Battle that Bitch for the next 8 years. How’s that for blunt.

Even my children, who are over the battles as well, tell me that they really feel that I should have stood up to their Father 9 years ago.  Instead of trying to be the Nice One.  I basically lay down and became a brightly colored floor mat upon which 'he' would rake his anger over for the next 9 years.  Clawing and Tearing his way through the kids childhood.  Had I been strong Back Then,  I would have saved myself & our children,  a lot of grief and trips in and out of Family Court. God Bless those People for the Thankless job that they have.  

Really great advice coming from the kids who were torn between the two of us and witnessed it from all perspectives. His, Mine and Mostly Theirs. I thought I was doing what was Right. Apparently, he did to. And yet in the end I’m not sure that either one of us did ‘Right’ by our kids. Certainly, him less than me. Of course. HA.

I have tried to pick my battles carefully. I mean how do you Co~Parent with a man who says, “Fxxk You” at the beginning and end of almost every conversation with you and who doesn’t see his 15 year old daughter for a month but hands her an information packet on STD’s even before he hugs her and says, “Hi and how the hell are ya’”. Within the hour, he hands her a suitcase of her stuff and tells her to ‘take it to mom’s you no longer live here’, Which is followed by him giving her a permission form to ride the bus after school to his house. Can you spell Confused? What the hell is she supposed to do with that. Move out you don’t live here… but I don’t want your Mother getting ’ownership’ of the bus route? Other than clubbing him with a 2x4 on the ‘soft side of his head‘,… I have no advice.

Then you have a Mother who claims she wants custody of her child back after 3+ years, but doesn’t feel she is responsible for medical or school clothing or any of the traveling to get them to her house. Was she NOT present at the Birth. I’m not sure.

Given the fact that I once took off work and drove 40 miles round trip to ‘retrieve’ a forgotten bag of rocks that was meant for an art project being done at school THAT day, I can NOT wrap my brain around these kinds of parents. They have let Anger & Control & Fear of Losing the Battle, cloud their Realities and keep them from doing what is Right by these Kids.

Last Week. I saw MY Mother in the grocery store. I haven’t seen her in almost 9 months & even then it wasn’t a pleasant experience for either one of us. Her anger being palpable.

My daughter turned around and ran to hug grandma. I kept walking. I went around 3 aisles and was trying to decide how I was going to make my escape out the front of Walmart without looking like the store had caught on fire.

Suddenly it hit me just how ridiculous it was. She is my Mother. She gave Birth to Me. What’s she gonna do? Eat me in the Store? She’s to old to be eating her ‘young’ and quite frankly, I’m to big.

So I turned around and pushed my cart over to her. Before I could say ‘Hi’ She looked at me and was Gone. Awwww. So that’s what she can do. Reject Me. Right there in Public. In front of my own daughters. I wasn’t sure if I should cry or scream at her to come back and SEE her daughter. I did neither. I stood in silence and wondered, ‘What the Hell is Wrong with People… was she NOT present at my Birth… Helllooooo?’.

The last time I spoke to My Mother she asked Me, “What do you want from Me”. I wanted to say, “For you to Love me Mom”. I said Nothing. Until she hung up on me. Then I told her everything.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Grieve Like a Goat ~ Cry when you want to

I had full intentions of taking my daughter down to buy school supplies last night since school started today.


I’m not sure what went wrong or how I ended up 45 minutes away from Wal~Mart, at 8 o’clock at night, loading two goats, that I paid for in quarters, into the backseat of my car. Sometimes these things just happen. It’s usually the consequence of a great idea that has gone very wrong.

I may have jokingly mentioned once or twice that I needed a goat to mow the yard. I’m not sure I meant it. Regardless, my animal loving daughter heard these words and took them to heart and spent the last month searching ads for Goats for sale. Yesterday she found some.

We were only going to take just one. But anyone who has attempted to peel away a baby goat from his Mother or Brother will understand why we ended up with two.

Never in my life have I heard such a scream of agony as the sound that came out of that baby goat while we were trying to put it in the car by itself. It literally made me sick to my stomach. That sound of grief reached into my head and flipped off all the lids on my boxes filled with pain and flooded my brain with the emotions that lay there. I nearly threw up from the Wave. My daughter felt it to. Tears streamed down her face. It was overwhelming. We got the second goat for Free.

I’m not sure what we are going to do with them. These Screaming Baby Goats. They are to small to really be utilized as Weed Eaters and right now they are being held in a protective Barn area at our neighbors house while we contemplate the large task of fixing fence and preparing an area to keep the goats until we can safely tie them up and watch them eat little circles of Weeds all over the fields.

On the way home, listening to them cry and scream, I say scream because ‘bleat’ is just to soft of a word for the sound coming out of them. Those Goats felt Pain. The Pain of Leaving their Mother and her Milk and the only place they had ever known. Their World was Changing and they knew it and Grieved. So they screamed and cried. Right there in the moment that they felt it. If only we were so free to do the same. I can only imagine how few Boxes of Pain we would end up with if we dealt with them one at a time as they came to us. Then let them go. Kicked them out of our head.

I’ve always preferred to hold back the tears, put the lid tightly on the box, pile it in the back of my head with the rest of the “This Hurt Me” boxes, only to revisit them once in awhile after I’ve had a glass or two of Wine or a Beer to many. I can obviously see many problems with this approach.

I’m imagining myself making that Goat Grief noise the next time I encounter a rude negative person who is lashing out at the first body that steps in their path. Can you just see the look on their face when instead of being defensive or rude back you simply break into a Howl of Goat like Grief.

You will walk away with out another Box to deal with. And they will be left reevaluating a future attack on your self confidence. Or its possible they may just avoid you completely.

I can see the look on my ex’s face the next time he attempts to undermine my Holiday Time with my girls or pulls me into a ridiculous Custody Battle. I’ll just look at him or the Judge and Howl and Scream from the pits of my stomach. Of course my next image is a Syringe full of Valium and a Pretty White Coat. I’m just not sure our Society is ready for us to deal with Our Pain with actual Goat Like Grief.

However, there is a lesson to be learned by this. We need to be more like the Goat. Express our Grief and our Pain in the Now. Don’t put it in a box to be dealt with later after it has festered and grown. That and buy your damn school supplies before the day before school starts. Seriously People.

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Floatin Alone won't kill You

Every one leaves. Eventually we all leave someone somewhere at some point. It’s the leaving that keeps me from loving completely sometimes. I see the Leaving coming and I find myself shutting down to stop the hurt before it starts hurting.


Probably my first experience with someone Leaving was my Dad. It wasn’t his fault. The war called him. Then he was paralyzed and lived, in what I can now only imagine, was his own personal hell. He slipped away from us then, before we even had a chance to get to know him or find out in person that he loved us. When he died I knew he Left, I just didn’t realize that it would be something that would be in my Life forever. His Leaving. It started a catalyst that seemed to be the precedence for my Life. Some say you get what you Fear if you focus on it long enough.

I don’t miss the irony that I have always feared Living Alone. And yet here I am. Doing just that. It hasn’t killed me, obviously. But I don’t enjoy it. I hate it in fact. Especially as my girls get older and busier and the house is empty more times than not.

I chuckle inwardly every time a married woman says to me, “you should spend some time alone”.

That’s really all I’ve ever done.

Hard to believe since I spent over half my life married to two different men. But there it is. Most of the time they weren’t there. Working Nights. Playing Days. Living in the Garage or Alaska.

In all fairness, Sometimes even when they were there. I wasn’t. I look back and realize that there were so many times I wasn’t present in the moment. I was off in my mind somewhere. With my Dad. Or my Dead Babies. Or my Childhood Memories. Opening and closing all of the boxes in my head randomly. Diving in and jumping out, not knowing what to do with all the information that rested uneasily there.

I was alone in my thoughts while being in a room full of people or sitting at the lake watching my girls play in the sand. That surreal moment just before the sun would go down and the sky would be orange. Their bodies black wiggly giggly silhouettes against the water. The boats and the jet skies creating a background noise and entertaining waves. And I’d just be sitting there thinking about how tired I was of doing ‘this’ alone. Life.

Those who have been doing it for years may not understand fully the blessing of having a ‘husband’ whom every night will wrap their arms around you at the end of the day and make it all worth while. Because they have it. It is only that which we don’t have that we want the most and that which we do have that we forget to not take for granted.

I’m blessed to have what I have and I am grateful to have found that. I guess I’m at a place in my Life where I recognize that it’s the Leaving and the being Alone that I have spent a Life time Fearing would happen. Now. Its time to be ok with both and just live in the Moment of what has been given to Me.

It’s ok to not want to float the river alone. Its just not ok to quit floating just because sometimes you are.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Why can't God throw me a Damn Bone?

There are days when I’m just not sure I can take one more thing. Days that I would give almost anything to take a vacation from my life. Like a real vacation. For about a year. A week just wouldn’t cut it.


I’d like to curl up in bed, obviously not mine as it now smells of Skunk, with my teddy bear and a kiss on my forehead from a mother who is no longer in my life, and take a very very long nap. Life has just made me so tired today.

I can usually find some humor or something positive in everything that happens in life. Not today. Today, the Glass is half empty. The stream is cold and full of Boulders and Trees and Bears and Skunks. I am wallowing in self pity and no one can talk me out of it. I’m holding back tears. Just barely. I’m sitting in the coffee shop wishing it were 3 o’clock so I could go. Somewhere. But not home. Jamaica Maybe.

Yesterday, even though I’d been fighting some stomach virus, I went home, took a nap then woke up and spent 4 hours cleaning house. Going through cupboards and closets. Scrubbing and shampooing the floors. All in the wild hopes that someone will make an offer on this Beast of a House and Free Me from it. I was tired and proud of the work I had accomplished, thinking how much I loved the smell of a clean house as I was falling asleep. Seriously. I can’t miss the irony of those thoughts. Its like I sent out a personal freaking challenge to God. ‘Hey, do you hear me up there… I love this clean smelling house… Please do whatever you can to change that for me’. I mean really.

4am this morning. My honey opens the master bedroom door, to let the pacing young dog outside, only to be greeted by a blast of Skunk. Or several Blasts. I’m pretty sure that Skunk emptied itself right through the door and all over the Porch and Wooden Door Jam.

We tried to sleep, in the far corners of the house. But the stench had worked its way through all three levels. And the dog could be heard howling and crying from the garage for most of the morning. At first I was laughing… but then it turned into some kind of hysterical cackling… and ended with a choking noise in my throat as I tried to not cry when I realized the full irony of my 4 hour attempt at making my house smell clean for the ‘showings’.

I came to work, tired with a queasy stomach and the lingering stench of Skunk in my hair to find that the air conditioning had leaked water down the walls of my shop and the sheetrock & flooring is all warped and ruined. It is a good thing I do not sell Vodka at my coffee shop.

A person can just try and try and try to swim down the stream smoothly and serenely, but there just isn’t much you can do when the forces of nature have turned on you. That is how today feels.

I shouldn’t whine. I know there are worse situations happening to people all over the world. I try very hard to remember that. And it makes me feel guilty that I’m feeling sorry for myself for piddly little things like a Skunk Saturation or a Melted Wall.

Its just… some days… I’d like God to Throw Me a Bone. Ya know…. Make something simple for me. My friend Chloe said to me, “wouldn’t you love to have a glimpse of your life a year from now… see if your happy and life has gotten a little easier”. Most days I’d say absolutely, knowing that everything that comes my way will be good. Not today.

Today. I’m wallowing in a Ridiculously large amount of Skunk Smelling Self Pity.

Thursday, August 5, 2010

I never should have been a Pet Owner

My dog looked at me this morning with condemnation in his eyes. The look said, “I hope your daughter comes home soon since you forgot to feed me again”. I should never have been a pet owner. This may be a quality the Manicured Dog Groomer saw when I was desperately applying for the dog washing job.


Buddy is an old 100lb cranky Newfoundland, with the skinny legs of a Collie, who pretends to be hard of hearing. He can hear me opening a cheese wrapper in the kitchen and will come bouncing in, but tell him to get off the couch and he looks at you like he has no idea what your talking about. And just try to get him in the back of a truck when he‘s decided to stay Home or at the Lake.

Last week he got into a tussle with a Racoon or something and ended up at the vet’s office getting his fat head shaved and $200.00 worth of stitches, I should have just put him to sleep… I reminded him of this after he ate 4 of my daughters chickens and I was having to use my entire body weight to push him out of the chicken coop.

I am just way to neurotic to have pets in my house. Pet Hair. Pet Toys. Slobbery Food Dishes. Muddy paw prints on the glass door because I forgot to let him in. Yuck. Not to mention what a pile of dog poo or throw up will do to my psyche. Thank God cream colored carpet can handle my incessant bleaching every time it happens.

A couple years ago my youngest had called me at work and said the Dogs were sick. I’m like.. Ok.. So deal with it. She’s like 12 and to my knowledge can handle a little Poo. I am at work and have plans to head to the gym. I’ve got skinny somewhere inside and I’m going to find it dammit. Three phone calls later, I’m screaming at her to cowboy up and take care of the situation as I know that if I miss one night at the gym it will result in a 30 day absentee on my part cuz that is just how I am. After repeated begging attempts and phone calls,  I finally got a sense of her urgency when she asked what she should use to clean it up… the mention of a shovel set off all of my alarms. When I got home I was greeted by my poor sobbing daughter standing in the middle of the room with a shovel in one hand and a roll of paper towels in the other. And shit everywhere. Everywhere. I could not in my worse nightmares imagine such a thing. On the couches. On the walls. The floors. And they didn’t just hit one level of the house they hit them all. I didn’t know two dogs could even do all that. You could almost see the Odor in the Air. My poor baby girl was standing there right in the middle of it, not having a clue where to start. And the Mother of the Year Award goes to ….ME. That was my first carpet shampooing with straight bleach.

That very same daughter has turned into the Dog Whisperer. She has trained her unruly crazy Yellow Lab, who quite frankly is like having an elephant on crack running around your house, into a very nice and possibly loveable dog. She truly is amazing and gifted when it comes to animals.

As for Me. When my dog ‘Goes to the Light’ I am not getting another one.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Everything else is just Stuff!

We spend a lifetime working for ‘Stuff.’ I like ‘Stuff’ as much as the next guy. Although my idea of ‘Stuff’ is somewhat different than some that I know. My “Stuff” is a house that I can’t really afford in an economy that hasn’t allowed me to sell it. Or a new pair of jeans because my dryer shrunk mine. Or a $10.00 box of hair dye to hide the Grey. My gas tank miraculously full all the time would be a dream come true. My needs are pretty little.


There is nothing like that moment when you ask yourself what and who you are without all the Stuff. I’ve had the opportunity to do that more than once in my life. Dammit anyway.

I wanted the White Picket Fence dream for my kids. The happy loving Mom and Dad, the original set in tact, none of this Blended Family Business. A Couple of kids. The cute little house. The dog and the cat.

After I divorced the first time I was torn with Grief over not being able to give that to my kids regardless of trying for almost 14 years with a man who didn’t even know who I really was and resented the Awakened Person that I wanted to be. He married a Girl and Divorced a Broken Woman.

That Night that the Marriage ended and me and my two girls were laying on a deflating air mattress in my mothers spare bedroom, no job, no money, no home. We took nothing with us that night when we left. It was then that I first got the opportunity to Prioritize my Stuff list. As I was laying there trying to cry quietly, my oldest daughter said it all, “Mommy its ok. We have each other. And my dolly. And clean underwear.” And she was right. You got each other and clean underwear, and maybe a can of cream corn, and you’ve just about got everything that you need.

My impatience to wait for the Right One landed me with the two Wrong Ones. I kicked down doors and rushed into two marriages in an attempt to have the White Picket Fence Dream. By first impression, Instead what I got was a lot of grief and heartache. In the Moment that is how it felt.

I should have listened to my inner voice. The first time I got married I waited until one week before the wedding to ‘borrow’ a dress and the second time I ended up getting married in a black sweater dress I found in the bottom of my closet because the one I had didn’t fit and made me look like a white German sausage in heels. The big question being why did I hide that dress in the back of the closet and pretend it wasn’t there until the night before I was getting married. DUH.

In the Bigger Picture I know that it was all meant as a passage of growth so that I’d be ready when I did meet the Right One. I’d know it. And I’d Appreciate it and Honor it in a way that I was never capable of doing before.

The light at the end of the tunnel was always right in front of me. I was just clogging it with People and Things that didn‘t belong there.

The best thing that has come from this economy and the loss of my house hanging over my head on a daily basis along with the uncertainty of my future employment is that I have been forced, again, to look at my ‘Stuff” list and to realize what makes me Breath and Laugh and Live. Not that I had ever really forgotten.

It’s Love. Loving my beautiful amazing daughters. Loving my Soul Mate. Loving my Friends and Family. And being loved back by them. That is everything I have ever wanted in my life.

Everything else is just ‘Stuff’.

Thursday, July 22, 2010

There is a Bigger Picture

Some of the most Bittersweet moments in my life have turned out in the future to be the very best. Usually I’m to stuck smack dab in the middle of it to be able to even glimpse any possible Positive Outcome, until much later.


For instance, take my divorce to Dumb Ass. While in the midst of it I felt nothing but the pain of Searing Flesh. The tearing apart of two people who had committed to be One in the path of Life. No matter how badly one or the other may want it or need it, when you tear the One back into Two, you are both left with wounds to lick. Some more than others.

Some 10 years later not only am I a happier and stronger person because of that experience but I can look back and laugh about the things that seemed so important in the moment. I can remember a month long fight between our attorney’s because I took the Tin full of Medicine. That bottle of Tylenol costing us both about $500.00 in attorney’s fees. It’s funny now, but was serious business back then. He wanted the antique tv. So I handed it over but not before I unscrewed the back of it and unplugged all the wires. He closed out the savings account. I threw all the dishes in the garbage & his underwear in the front yard. The hot tub disappeared to later be located at one of his relatives house. I took all the good furniture and left him with the broken stuff. And on and on it went. I can’t even imagine how tired my friends and family got of hearing my endless angry droning about ‘stuff’ that would mean absolutely nothing in the future.

If only we could try to envision the Bigger Picture and stop focusing on all the little details and things. How much more fulfilling and less frightening our life might be.

I’m stuck in one of those moments where I wish I could turn on the flat screen TV and see what it is I am supposed to BE. How much easier the journey might be if I had a freakin clue which direction to take.

I take comfort in Colonel Sanders. Not in the way you might think, mind you. Colonel Sanders dropped out of school in seventh grade and worked many jobs, including steamboat pilot, insurance salesman, railroad fireman, farmer, and enlisted in the Army as a private when he was only 16 years old. I also believe he was an attorney at one time, but don’t quote me on that. When he was 40, he worked at his Service Station and served his special chicken recipe out of his living quarters in the back. Quite innovative if you ask me.

What I love about His Story is that it wasn’t until he was 65 that he franchised his company KFC and really figured out what in the hell he wanted to do. In many of his speeches he said that was when his life began. After, he retired and got his shit together. Not his exact words. But close.

I want to be THAT guy. Not because it would make the mustache and chin hairs that much more acceptable, but because he never gave up on himself. He kept plugging away and trying different things until he stumbled accidentally onto his gift. And even then, he didn’t hoard his millions. He gave and gave and gave. Besides the multitudes of scholarships that he gave, the people around him became just as wealthy as he was.

He didn’t lose Faith in himself. He wasn’t afraid to succeed or to fail he just kept trying. He saw a Bigger Picture.


What a concept to Give more than you Receive. If only we did that with all our Gifts and Talents and Wealth, how much different Life could BE.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

We all have a Story

I slammed my finger in the door. I'm going to probably lose my fingernail. Best case scenario it is going to be black for the next 3 months.

My head is just not in my body right now. In the past couple months I have burned my hand and arm twice. Once on the espresso machine and once on a curling iron. Its amazing the damage that both can do. And I tripped on the concrete stairs and stepped in a potted plant and sliced my heel. Seriously. My daughter looked at me, while I'm trying to not pee my pants from the pain in my finger, and says, "mom, this is getting ridiculous. I’m afraid to let you leave the house alone". That’s a switch.

In my defense I was excited for my weekend away. Away from the mortgage, My dog who just got $200.00 worth of stitches and looks like Frankenstein’s Dog. Away from the Coffee Shop and my absentee partners who want money but won‘t help. Away from the lawn that keeps growing regardless of the fact that I refuse to water it. Just Away. I was so excited I could barely contain myself. Obviously.

We went to the lake and Boated with my Honey’s sister, who is the sweetest most graceful person I have met in a long time. We floated around in a Cabin Cruiser and met up with some of their friends. People who I didn’t even know existed anymore. People with Money. I seriously had thought that kind of People were gone forever. Newsflash; They are out there. They really do exist. I just don’t know any of them.

I had a friend with money once. But she’s broke now and has been in a complete meltdown over it for about 2 years. She has thrown me and everyone else around her under the bus for Pennies. Her fear of being without money is noxious. I see her and think, I don’t even know this person. It’s like a hungry Alien has taken over her body.

What a different world people with Money live in than I do. Not that I’m envious, or would ever admit that I’m envious, but WOW… what fun to be able to throw $100.00’s down on drinks and snacks without having an aneurism doing it. I had to stop myself from grasping the bills in my hands and running for the door, swimming across the lake and back to my car and calling my mortgage company with the great news! I found money. Just laying around. Ha. I have told them that I DO have a box of money, with my name on it, just floating around out in the universe and as soon as it gets sent to my front door I will let them know.

Regardless of the Money, what I noticed the most was that everyone has a story and they want to tell IT. The woman with the 5 carat diamond makes quilts for all her family and likes to drink Red Wine while canoeing with her girlfriends. The ruff and tough guy in the beat up boat that needed towed; knows and is friends with everyone at the Marina including the Preppy guy in the $120,000.00 'cigarette boat'. The man who rode his 10 speed bike to the Lake while balancing his Pabst Blue Ribbon Tall Boy between the handle bars, was hoping to get his teenage daughter her first Boat Ride. The Woman who has been trying to sell the Marina for 5 years but can’t, is obsessed over water stains around the bathroom sinks, I’m not sure she even notices the sunshine anymore.

The 100 some Harley riders who turned out for the Ride for Life Auction to raise money for charity, High Fives to all of them, if tough tattooed guys do high fives. I’m not sure. All I know is that the big blond biker woman whose drink I spilled all over the place did Not beat me up… so, yay for that.

I don’t care who ya’ are. Hanging out with Friends, drinking Mojito’s in the sun (my new favorite drink Ever), swimming and laughing and barbequing. That can make you forget almost anything.

As I was sitting on the beach, I was thinking about my Grandma and how much she would have loved being there with me. She loved her family, when they weren't being judgmental and mean; which was most of the time. She loved to Party. Boats, Water, Music and Beer. I can almost picture her smiling and laughing. A cigarette in one hand and a beer in the other while she tapped her feet in the sand to the music and wished she had her square dancing dress on. I wish I'd have loved her more and judged her less. Especially given the fact that I am now her. My hair is a little longer and my butt is a little bigger, and I don’t smoke but otherwise there I am sitting on the beach with the spirit of my Grandma, a watered down Mojito, tapping my toes in the sand and wanting the moment to never end.

We are all here trying to do the same thing. Live.Love.Be. And We are never really alone while we are doing it.

Friday, July 16, 2010

A Little About Me

I should have started with this. But its hard. My perspective has always been a little skewed about myself. The older I get the more I think that what I thought about myself is less true and the more I get to know who I really am. Like it or not.


I once would have said that I never lied. Hated liars in fact. But its come to my attention that I do lie. Not monumental stuff mind you… just baby lies. When I want to get off the phone I say, ‘I’ll call you right back’. I don’t mean it. What I should say is, “I’m tired of talking to you, or to anyone for that matter, so I’m hanging up now”. But I don’t want to hurt feelings. So I lie. I will never tell you that you look fat. Even if you do. That’s just how I roll.

I always thought I loved big crowds. I really don’t. 8-10 people is my max. But I prefer one at a time. Or maybe two. I do not like to be the center of attention and I don’t have nearly the self confidence that I am able to fake. I hate social events where everyone dresses up and pretends to be someone they aren’t.

I am not modern or high fashioned. I hate shopping. My underwear never match my bra. Wal-mart overwhelms me to the point that I look at all of the crap lined up on the shelves waiting to be bought and then forgotten and I just feel depressed.

My hair, is curly and wild and out of control most of the time not because I do it on purpose but because I am a lazy morning person. I dislike fake fingernails and nearly punctured my ear drum the last time I was talked into getting them.

My alter ego would like to get on a Harley without a helmet and ride down Highway 101 on a sunny warm day even if its not safe. Regardless of the fact that I don’t want my 15 year old to cross the road without holding my hand to keep her safe.

I know the sun gives you cancer but I love it anyway. I never felt closer to God than in a church in Mexico where the floor was dirt and the hymns were in Spanish. I do not separate my laundry and I have a sock basket that intimidates even me.

I’m not a jet setter. I have no desire to see France. My favorite place in the world is a Sunny Day at a Lake or Stream, a good book and a cooler of cold beer.

Farts embarrass me but I don’t mind sharing my toothbrush.

I hardly ever let myself cry in front of anyone. I cry sitting in the bottom of my shower in the dark, sometimes until the water runs cold.

My favorite song is Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison. It makes me want to swing around in circles, tip my head back, shake my hips and sing. No matter where I am. I once had it as my ring back tone for so long people were begging me to remove it.

My Dad died when I was barely old enough to remember him and I inherited an angry alcoholic stepfather who did his best but wasn’t a lot of fun most of the time. My Mom was a manic screamer whose inner child by all appearances had been broken along time ago, mostly we forgave her because she would bake us Betty Crocker Lemon Pudding Cake while we watched a late night movie. That and she was Mom.

I would say my immediate family was dysfunctional. but I’m not sure that even covers it. Even as adults we struggle with relationships with each other and aren’t afraid to take each other down when even the smallest weakness is observed.

I have learned to reach outside and seek family from the circle of people who offer positive reassurance and unconditional love. The others, I simply do not have the energy to let into my bubble. My Light is still fragile. I have to protect it.

I nearly died from stubbornness when I insisted a ruptured appendix was a bad case of gas and refused to go to the ER. It was only at the insistence of my friend Chloe who googled my symptoms that I finally gave in and went. The doctor told me that had I waited a mere hour later, I would have died from Toxic Shock.

I had to abort my first baby at 6 months due to severe complications and I have stood at the grave of a miniature casket and buried premature twins. I railed at God for 20 years. I had my first Panic Attack the day my oldest daughter drove off with her new drivers license, all by herself.

All I ever wanted to be when I grew up was a Mother and a Wife. The first I’m proud to say has been one of the best things I have ever done and done well. I have two amazing mature beautiful daughters, each with very different and distinct gifts and personality’s. I appreciate and love them more than words can even express.

The Wife Part, I haven’t quite mastered that yet. And I say yet, because I’m not giving up on it. I love the idea and sanctity of marriage.

My Man Picker seems to have been broken. Not that I’ve picked all bad men (this is my little disclaimer) but not the right men for me. Up until now.

I will probably always refer to my first ex-husband as Dumb Ass, because he has given me so much grief trying to co-parent over the years. I know that all the books say we should at least appear to be getting along… but F that. I’m just not that good of a liar.

My second ex-husband will be referred to as Alaska Bound Man, because it was his trip out of my bedroom into the garage for a year and then off to Alaska that forced me out of the bottom of the shower and into my closet where I put on my big girl panties and changed my life and started to look inward.

I have never felt more weak and scared about finances while at the same time empowered knowing I can live on so little. I am madly and passionately in love with a man that for the first time in my life I feel completely compatible with. My daughters are almost raised and out of the house and I couldn’t be prouder of who they have become.

I am sitting on the Precipice of a huge change. I can feel it. It vibrates within me.

And with that. I say Cheers to the Weekend.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

What to do... What to do...

I applied for a job. In fact I have been applying for jobs since January. Up until then I have never even filled out a job application as something has always just jumped out into my path.


In my attempt to now take Control of the Universe I have decided to apply for just about any job that comes available in the hopes that I will be able to work it in with the 60 hours a week FREE labor that I put into the coffee shop along with my Personal Life which has become more important to me than Ever.

Searching for Employment at 40, and in a crumbling economy, has been a very humbling experience. Given the fact that the job market, in this area, has put women with Bachelors Degrees behind a desk answering phones, I have lowered my expectations a smidgeon. Actually a Giant Smidgeon.

Last Week I applied for a Dog Washing Job. Seriously. I could have squashed the Child interviewing me with one swat of the back of my hand. She is reading over my Resume, which seems quite impressive even to me. Office Manager of a (once) multimillion dollar company. Owner and Operating Manager of a Coffee Kiosk. Sales Woman Extraordinaire Etc.

Instead of being impressed, she flips the application over with her newly French Manicured Nails, and over and over again as if she is hoping to see something that she may have missed the first time. And says, “You just don’t seem to have the right qualifications for this job”. Silence. Really? I’m thinking “Really… you dumb Bitch… I have been washing Dogs and Cats and Kids Butts for the last 18 years… how freakin’ hard can it be? You tie them up. Suds ‘em up. Rinse them. For God’s sake it is not rocket science”.

I said Nothing. There was just to much that I wanted to say. And she was at an unfair disadvantage because she was just to dumb and inexperienced to understand anything that would have come out of my mouth besides maybe the F Word. Plus I did not want to be personally responsible for traumatizing her. No matter how dumb she was. So. I said Nothing.

I raised the Bar and applied for a receptionist job at a Veterinary Office. Its answering the phones. Right. She reads my application/resume and says I’m just way to Over Qualified. I try to explain to her that I’m ok with that, without sounding as if I’m begging. I was not convincing.

I send my Resume to a Church Office for a bookkeeping position. In my phone interview she asks me what my beliefs are. Not only did I NOT get the job, but I am now on their Prayer Chain.

And so. I continue to make Coffee while my partners are sunning themselves off their decks or whatever it is they do. And I wonder when I will ever listen to the advice of Friends and Loved ones. If I had a nickel for every person who distastefully said, “EWWW… going into business with Your Mother and Your Friend”… I wouldn’t be applying for a job anywhere. I’d be sitting on some sandy beach with my Honey Bunny, drinking Icey Cold Corona’s.

I think the lesson here is just to obvious to even point out.